The ASEAN Mutual Recognition Arrangement on Tourism Professionals (MRA-TP)

This page is a portal for users to access MRA-TP information, resources and materials.

About the MRA-TP

The Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA) on Tourism Professionals was adopted by the ASEAN Tourism Ministers (ATM) in 2009 as a key ASEAN tourism initiative to support the establishment of the ASEAN Economic Community 2015. The MRA seeks to facilitate the mobility of certified ASEAN Tourism Professionals (ATPs) across the ASEAN Member States (AMSs).

The stated Article I Objectives of the MRA-TP are:

  1. To facilitate mobility of Tourism Professionals; and
  2. To exchange information on best practices in competency-based education and training for Tourism Professionals and to provide opportunities for cooperation and capacity building Across ASEAN Member States.

Three key resources underpin the MRA-TP framework: the ASEAN Common Competency Standards for Tourism Professionals (ACCSTP), the Common ASEAN Tourism Curriculum (CATC), and the Regional Qualifications Framework and Skills Recognition System (RQFSRS).

The Common ASEAN Tourism Curriculum (CATC) and Regional Qualifications Framework and Skills Recognitions Systems (RQFSRS) comprise of 52 qualifications, which include 242 competency units and 32 jobs titles across 5 levels and 6 labour divisions.

For further information on the MRA-TP see:


 Handbook of ASEAN MRA on Tourism Professionals (PDF)

Key Materials

This section provides curriculum, competency standard, and training resources for 52 qualifications and for the toolboxes. These are particularly useful for ATPs, trainers, and assessors.

ASEAN Tourism Curriculum & Qualifications Framework

Access information on the 52 qualifications (at a glance and individual), including Core and Generic Competency and Functional Competency unit requirements.

 View all 52 Qualifications (PDF)

Or view by individual Qualification

 Clusters - all Competency Standards Menus (PDF)


Access Toolboxes including training, assessment, and ATP resources for 242 competency units.